Lake Constance


The Lake Constance Parliamentary Commission is besides the International Lake Constance Conference and the Lake Constance Council a body that is dedicated on the level of parliamentarians of the countries and cantons of the Lake Constance area of cross-border cooperation.

The Lake Constance Parliamentary Commission, whose inaugural meeting on 17 June 1994 was held in Bregenz, is a cooperative association of countries and cantons adjacent and associated with the Lake Constance Baden-Württemberg, Bavaria, Tyrol, Appenzell Ausserrhoden, Appenzell Innerrhoden, Schaffhausen, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Zurich and Liechtenstein.

The Principality of Liechtenstein became a member in the Lake Constance Parliamentary Commission in late 1998, coinciding with the Canton of Zurich.

Aim and objective of the cooperation of the parliamentary representatives of the federal states and cantons in the Lake Constance area is to discuss common cross-border problems in a constant exchange of information and opinion.